Banner 7

HKECIA 2016-2017 Chairman's Report

The Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (HKECIA), first incorporated in May 1990, is celebrating its 27th.  The Association currently has over one hundred members, making it a truly representative voice for the exhibition and convention industries. Our commitment over the years has been to act as a unified voice that represents and promotes the industry and increases awareness of the contribution it has made to our wider society, as well as to support members in areas such as professional development, business networking and information exchange.            

One of the important tasks of the Association is that of conducting the annual exhibition survey, a valuable tool that is widely used by members, the government, the media, the business sector and the wider community to understand trends and developments in the exhibition industry. By benchmarking the survey findings with similar surveys conducted by other Asian cities, we are able to obtain a valuable ‘big picture’ of where Hong Kong stands in the region.

The exhibition survey for 2016 showed that the Hong Kong exhibition industry remains steady despite fierce competition from new facilities in the region. Key indicators, including number of exhibiting companies and number of visitors, remained similar to those of the previous year, with a fall-off in some sub-groups being offset by rises in exhibiting companies and visitors from China. Around 66,500 exhibiting companies and over 2.2 million visitors participated in the trade and trade & consumer exhibitions in Hong Kong last year. The final report will be available in the next few weeks. I would like to thank the Communications Sub-Committee for making this important survey possible, along with all those of our members who contributed data.

Sub-Committee Reports

China Sub-Committee

Over the past 12 months, the HKECIA continued to maintain close relationships with exhibition organisations in different cities of Mainland China. Delegations from Mainland organisations were welcomed from Dalian, Chongqing and Guangzhou Tianhe. Representatives from the Association also participated in a number of major exhibition events in China, including several senior forums across the Pearl River Delta, Guangzhou, Guilin, Macao Shanghai & Beijing.

The HKECIA Members follow venue development in China with much interest. The China Sub-Committee has been closely monitoring the progress of the new Convention & Exhibition Centre in Shenzhen, as well as other new exhibition centres in the neighbouring cities of Zhuhai and Foshan.

Communications Sub-Committee

The Communications Sub-Committee continued to handle the extensive work associated with producing the 7th edition of the Economic Impact Study 2016 as well as managing the Annual Exhibition Survey 2016, while at the same time maintaining a busy schedule of day to day activities.  The Economic Impact Study 2016 report is underway, and the results will be announced soon.  The Communications Sub-Committee has also provided the Association with regular valuable support in areas such as the handling of media releases, press interview line-ups at which the Association’s position on the need for additional exhibition space was expressed, and chairman’s speeches and presentations.

Education and Training Sub-Committee

The Global Exhibitions Day Conference was organised last June for the first time, under the theme of the “China Belt & Road Initiative”. As speakers, the HKECIA invited industry experts from around the region to come and share their thoughts on this important topic

In December, the Education and Training Sub-Committee organised the HKECIA Annual Seminar, which attracted 100 members and guests and included topics on the Competition Ordinance, Health & Safety in the Exhibition Industry and the O2O2O strategy. The seminar received very positive feedback from participants.

In March, Sub-Committee handled the HKECIA Recruitment Seminar in Polytechnic University. This seminar aimed at providing final-year School of Hotel & Tourism Management students with the opportunity of engaging in face-to-face conversations with potential employers. Three HKECIA members presented talks at the seminar, which was attended by around 40 students with a keen interest in learning more about career opportunities within the industry.

Ms. Wendy Lai, Executive Vice Chairman of the HKECIA, represented the HKECIA at a sharing session for a group of students from Higher Diploma in Event Management at the Hong Kong PolyU Community College, at which she gave an overview of the exhibition industry and shared her personal experiences with 50 students. The Sub-Committee will continue to look for more such opportunities to reach out to young talents and encourage them to pursue a career in the exhibition & convention industry.

Exhibition Operations Sub-Committee

The Operations Sub-Committee focuses on two key aspects of our business – upgrading work safety at Hong Kong events, and reducing the environmental impact of our events.

Work Safety 

The challenges in this area include extremely large shows, big stands, limited move-in/out times, and many hundreds of workers, a high percentage of whom are sub-contracted.

We continue to promote safe working practices including safe “working at height” at Hong Kong events.  We also encourage exhibitors to reduce stand heights for safety and environmental reasons, and to build special design raw space stands using lighter materials and components.

Improvements in this area would not be possible without the endorsement and support of both  AsiaWorld-Expo, and the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Over the year we have engaged with a new contractor and supplier association (HKESA), with a view to improving the work practices and equipment used across the industry (particularly ladders). We have also engaged with a third-party health and safety consultant (Prowess Safety Ltd), representatives from which spoke at the HKECIA 2016 Christmas seminar.

Environmental Impact

Hong Kong’s landfills are almost full.  Meanwhile, the Government has announced plans for a Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) charging scheme which is likely to take effect in late 2019.

These two points mean that everyone in our industry needs to think carefully about the waste generated by each event, from printed promotional material to custom-made exhibition stands which end up in a landfill.  Only by taking responsibility for the waste we generate, and committing to “reduce, reuse and recycle”, can we improve the situation.


Membership Sub-Committee

The Membership Sub-Committee continued to work on creating networking opportunities for members, and supporting Association events such as the annual dinner and seminars.

As of today, the Association had 67 full members, 25 associate members and 9 overseas members, making a total of 101 members.

New members in 2016-2017 included the Chinese Manufacturers’ Association of Hong Kong, Guangdong Tanzhou International Convention and Exhibition Co., Ltd., Shanghai New International Expo Center Co., Ltd (SNIEC), Alto Asia Ltd, Y.Y. Wong Safety Consultants Ltd, Ocean Park Corporation and the Hong Kong Disneyland Resort. Members who are joining his year 2017-2018 include Comasia Ltd, Messe Duesseldorf China Ltd. N200 (GES) Asia Ltd., SPEX Asia Pte. Ltd. We welcome the support and contribution of these new members to the HKECIA family.

In 2016, the sub-committee helped organise the HKECIA Annual Seminar and the Christmas networking cocktail event.

The Membership Sub-Committee will continue to explore and create networking opportunities and enhance membership benefits.


Venue Development Sub-Committee

Members of the Venue Development Sub-Committee and myself met with representatives from the Commerce & Economic Development Bureau (CEDB) in February 2017. At the meeting, the CEDB shared updates regarding venue development in Hong Kong, including details of the proposed plan to redevelop the Wanchai Sports Ground, and of the New Convention Centre above the Exhibition Station in Wanchai. The Sub-Committee Members and I shared our position with the CEDB, particularly stressing our support for expanding both the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and AsiaWorld-Expo in order to address the unmet demand for venue space and to maintain Hong Kong’s competitiveness by comparison with neighbouring cities in China and other cities in Asia.

The Sub-Committee will follow up closely with the government and relevant departments and organisations on the development of convention & exhibition space in Hong Kong.


AFECA Sub-Committee

The Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Associations (AFECA) was established in 2005, with a mission to promote and enhance the MICE industry in Asia. At the AGM of AFECA held on 7 November 2016, Ms. Wendy Lai, Executive Vice Chairman of HKECIA, was elected Assistant Honorary Treasurer of the AFECA Board for 2016-2018.

The HKECIA, together with Mr. Andrew Kay and Mr. Stanley Chu, sponsored a team of students from the School of Hotel & Tourism Management of Hong Kong Polytechnic University to compete with another 14 teams of students from Asia in the AFECA Asia MICE Youth Challenge on 8 November 2016, in Xiamen. Although the Hong Kong team did not win the competition, they gained valuable experience and enhanced their understanding of the MICE industry.

The HKECIA will maintain close relations with AFECA and continue working to facilitate exchanges between Hong Kong and other exhibition associations in Asia.


Trade Promotion, Communication & Networking Activities

The Association has been actively involved in a number of valuable activities over the year, and I would like to mention some of the most significant ones here.

- The Global Exhibitions Day Conference and the 26th HKECIA Annual Dinner were held on 8 June (Global Exhibitions Day) with great success, attracting over 130 and 340 participants respectively.

- In October 2016, a delegation of 13 members from the HKECIA attended the 21st Macao International Trade and Investment Fair (MIF) in Macao.

- In November 2016, in my role of Chairman I delivered a speech at the networking lunch held on day one of the UFI Congress in Shanghai in which I promoted Hong Kong as Asia’s world city. There were 500 participants at this Congress.

- In December 2016, I delivered a speech at the Annual Dinner of the Hong Kong Exhibition Services Association (HKESA).

- In January 2017, the HKECIA Golf Day at Sai Kung, Kau Sai Chau was held successfully, with participants enjoying a fun day of sport and networking.

- In February 2017, members of the HKECIA and myself joined the UFI Open Seminar in Asia, held in Singapore.

Working together for the benefit of all

Hong Kong enjoys a leading position in the region as Asia's trade fair capital. However, this is not a position that is assured in perpetuity. The exhibition and convention industry in Hong Kong is facing some serious challenges, which include global economic uncertainty, fierce competition from other Asian cities, increasing cost of operation, a shortage of labour, a lack of purpose-built exhibition space and concerns over the environmental impact of our events.

The sustainability and the environmental impact of our industry is being questioned, and we have a moral and fiscal responsibility to meet our obligations to the planet. The safety of our events and of the hard-working individuals who make them happen is of paramount importance, and remains our very highest priority.

The physical connectivity and infrastructure in and around the city is also changing, and Hong Kong's wider role in the world needs to be re-emphasised. There are many ways in which we can collaborate to ensure the future prosperity of our city within the Pearl River Delta, but much work remains to be done. Together we, the key stakeholders in the industry, can find solutions, if we work together and continue to advise our legislators, encouraging the government to invest in projects and initiatives that serve and protect this vital industry.

I would like to use this opportunity to reemphasise my belief that only by working together will we succeed, and that only through cooperation can we achieve a better, brighter and more sustainable future.

Finally, I would like to thank all of our members for their contributions to Hong Kong's convention and exhibition industry. I wish you all a very prosperous year ahead.

Stuart Bailey

Chairman (2017)

GED16

香港展览会议业协会 - 2016-2017年会长报告

 

 

香港展览会议业协会创立於1990年5月,今年庆祝27周年。本会现有101个会员,是真正代表香港展览及会议业界意见的组织。多年来我们一直为业界发声,致力宣扬本业,让业界的社会贡献更广为人知。此外,我们亦在专业发展、业务联系、讯息交流等方面为会员提供支援。
本会的一项重要任务是进行展览业年度调查。无论是本会会员、政府、媒体、商界,以至社会大众,这项调查都是了解本港展览业趋势和发展的重要途径。若将调查结果与亚洲其他城市类似调查的结果相比,我们可以对香港展览业在区内的地位有一个更全面的印象。
2016年的展览业调查显示,虽然区内新落成的展览设施带来激烈竞争,香港展览业仍保持平稳。各项主要指标,包括参展商数目、访客数目等均与对上一年相彷,个别数目虽有下调,但来自中国内地参展公司和访客人数的上升足以抵销。去年香港的「商贸」及「商贸及消费」展览,吸引约66,500家参展商和超过220万名访客。报告将於未来几个星期公布。对负责筹备这项重要调查的传讯事务小组,以及曾为调查提供数据的所有会员,在此我谨衷心致谢。

小组工作报告


中国事务小组
过去12个月,本会与内地多个城市的展览业组织继续保持紧密联系。我们接待了来自大连、重庆及广州天河区的组织代表。本会的代表亦参与了多个内地主要展览业活动,包括在珠江叁角洲、广州、桂林、澳门、上海和北京举办的大型论坛。
本会会员对内地展览场地的发展甚表关注。中国事务小组一直密切留意深圳会议展览中心,以及珠海和佛山等邻近城市新展览中心的进展。
传讯事务小组
传讯事务小组除了为协会处理日常繁忙的相关工作外,亦继续为第七次「展览业对香港经济的整体贡献研究2016」和「香港展览业年度调查2016」处理大量的工作。「展览业对香港经济的整体贡献研究2016」仍在进行中,结果将会很快公布。小组亦经常为本会提供各种支援,包括撮写新闻稿、安排媒体采访本会对增加展览场地的立场、準备会长的演辞等。

教育及培训事务小组
在教育及培训事务小组的策划下,本会於去年六月以「一带一路」为题,首次举办「全球展览日会议」。讲者方面,本会广邀区内的业界专家,就这个重要议题发表他们的意见。
去年12月,教育及培训事务小组举办的「香港展览会议业协会周年研讨会」吸引了100名会员和嘉宾,讨论的议题包括《竞争条例》、展览业的安全及健康、全通路虚实融合O2O2O策略等。研讨会深获出席人士讚赏。
今年叁月,小组参与了理工大学举办的「香港展览会议业协会招聘研讨会」,对象是酒店及旅遊管理学院的应届毕业生,目的是为他们提供与準僱主面谈的机会。叁名本会会员在会上发表谈话,出席的约40名学生均有兴趣进一步了解业内的就业机会。
本会常务副会长黎可怡女士到香港理工大学社区学院,为50名会展与项目管理高级文凭学生讲解展览业的概况,并分享一些个人经验。小组将会继续寻找类似机会,联繫年轻人才,鼓励他们投身展览会议行业。

展览营运事务小组
展览营运事务小组有两个工作重点:提升本港展览活动的工业安全,以及减低活动对环境的影响。

工业安全
业界在这方面面对的难题包括超大型的展览、巨型展览摊位、有限的进场和离场时间,以及数以百计的工作人员,而他们绝大部分是分判的。
我们继续在香港举办的展览活动宣传工业安全的重要,当中包括高空工作。为安全及环保考虑,我们鼓励参展商减低摊位的高度,并以较轻的物料和组件搭建特别设计的展览净地摊位。
这方面的改善,如果没有亚洲国际博览馆和香港会议展览中心的认可和支持,是不可能成功的。
年内,我们与一个新承办商及供应商组织(「香港展览业服务联盟」)合作,目的在改善工作常规和业内普遍使用的设备(特别是梯子)。另外,我们也邀请第叁方安全及健康顾问(卓越安全顾问有限公司)在本会的2016年圣诞研讨会中,派代表讲述相关问题。

环境影响
香港的堆填区已接近饱和。与此同时,政府公布的都市固体废物收费计划,很可能会於2019年底生效。
上述两点,表示业内每一个人都要想清楚每项活动所产生的废物,因为无论是推广用的印刷品或订造的展摊,最後都会送到堆填区。改善这个情况的唯一方法,是每个人都为自己製造的废物负责,并致力遵从「减少、再用和再循环」的原则。

会员事务小组

会员事务小组继续为会员製造各种交流机会,并协助筹办协会的周年晚宴和研讨会。
迄今为止,本会拥有67个正式会员、25个附属会员、9个海外会员,会员总数达101。
2016-2017年度的新会员包括香港中华厂商联合会、广东潭州国际会展中心有限公司、上海新国际博览中心、傲高亚洲有限公司、威煌安全顾问有限公司、海洋公园、香港迪士尼乐园度假区。将於2017-2018年度加入的机构包括康亚有限公司、杜塞尔多夫展览(中国)有限公司、N200(GES)亚洲有限公司及SPEX亚洲有限公司。我们对这些新会员带来的支持和贡献表示欢迎。
2016年,会员事务小组协办了本会的年度研讨会和圣诞联谊酒会。
小组将会继续探讨和营造各种交流机会,并为会员增加福利。

场地发展事务小组
场地发展事务小组的成员及我曾於2017年2月与商务及经济发展局(商经局)的代表会面。会议中,商经局介绍了增加香港会议及展览场地的最新情况,包括重新发展湾仔运动场计划,以及湾仔港铁会展站上盖新会议中心的详细内容。小组成员和我则向商经局申明本会的立场,特别强调为解决本港展览场地不敷应用的问题,我们支持扩建香港会议展览中心和亚洲国际博览馆,务求香港与内地邻近城市及其他亚洲城市相比下,仍能维持其竞争力。
小组将会就香港会议及展览空间的发展,与政府相关部门及组织继续作紧密跟进。

AFECA事务小组

「亚洲展览会议协会联盟」(AFECA)创立於2005年,宗旨是促进和提升亚洲的会议、展览及奖励旅遊业(MICE)。在2016年11月7日举行的AFECA周年会员大会上,本会常务副会长黎可怡女士获选为AFECA理事会2016-2018年的助理名誉司库。
2016年11月8日,在祁理权先生、朱裕伦先生和本会的赞助下,来自香港理工大学酒店及旅遊管理学院的一队学生,远赴厦门,与来自亚洲其他地方的14队学生参加「AFECA亚洲会展青年挑战赛」。虽然香港队未能胜出,但他们取得了宝贵的经验,也加深了对他们会展业的认识。 
本会将与AFECA保持紧密联系,并继续促进香港及其他亚洲展览业协会间的交流。


商贸推广、宣传及联谊活动
年内,本会积极参与多项活动,其中较为重要的有以下数项:
- 6月8日(全球展览日)举办「全球展览日会议」和第26届协会周年晚宴,反应非常理想,分别吸引到130名和340名会员和非会员出席。
- 2016年10月,本会代表团一行13人赴澳门,出席第20届澳门国际贸易投资展览会。
- 2016年11月,於上海举行国际展览业协会周年大会,在首日的交流午餐会上,我以本会会长身份发表演讲,推广香港作为「亚洲国际之都」的地位。这次周年大会的出席人数达500人。
- 2016年12月,我在「香港展览业服务联盟」的周年晚宴中发表讲话。
- 2017年1月,「香港展览会议协会高尔夫球日」在西贡滘西洲圆满举办,参加者均享受了一天的运动和联谊乐趣。
- 2017年2月,我和本会会员参加在新加坡举行的国际展览业协会亚洲公开研讨会。

为业界利益齐心尽力

虽然香港的会展业在区内处於领导地位,但我们不可视之为理所当然。香港的展览会议业正面对严峻考验,包括环球经济形势不明朗、来自亚洲其他城市的激烈竞争、营运成本上升、缺乏劳工、专业展览空场地短缺、展览活动对环境影响引起关注等。
业界的可持续发展和对环境造成的影响现正受到质疑,而我们亦对地球有一尽义务的道德和实质责任。同时,无论是活动本身或让活动得以顺利举行的工作人员的安全仍然是我们的首要考虑。
当香港市内及周边的运输网络和基础设施不断改善,我们需要重新强调香港在世界舞台上所担当的角色。我们可以在多方面合作,确保香港在珠叁角地区内继续保持繁荣倡盛,但需要做的工作很多。作为业界的主要持份者,如果我们能齐心协力,继续向立法机构提出建议,鼓励政府投资於造福和保护这个关键行业的项目和计划,我们必会找到最合适的方案。
我想藉着这个机会重申我的信念:我们如果要成功就必须齐心,而我们只能通过合作才会有一个更美好、更光明、更可持续的将来。

最後,我要向所有会员致谢,感谢他们为香港会议展览业付出的贡献。谨祝各位来年业务兴隆。

香港展览会议业协会会长(2017)
李剑彬(Stuart Bailey)