Banner 2

HKECIA exhibition survey reaffirms vitality of Hong Kong as Asia's trading hub


(Hong Kong, 23 June 2016)   The Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (HKECIA) today announced the results of its annual exhibition survey for the year 2015.  The survey, which presents a valuable snapshot of the state of the Hong Kong exhibition industry, revealed a positive year for the industry in 2015.  The total number of companies choosing to exhibit in Hong Kong rose slightly, following strong attendance from Mainland China and International exhibitors.  At the same time, visitor numbers rose by almost 13% over 2014, led by a return of Hong Kong visitors and a solid rise in visitors from China. 

Given the social and economic uncertainties of 2015 and their wider effects on the Hong Kong economy, the survey indicates that the exhibition industry remains robust.  Hong Kong clearly remains a favoured destination for exhibitors and visitors alike, and continues to build on its wide reputation as the Trade Fair Capital of Asia.

The survey was based on the results of questionnaires sent to 89 “trade” and “trade & consumer” exhibitions utilising 2,000 sqm of floor space or above.  Responses from 77 “trade” and “trade and consumer” exhibitions were received. Purely “consumer” exhibitions were not included in the results. 

In 2015, the number of companies choosing to exhibit in Hong Kong rose to 67,019, from 66,164 the previous year, a relatively modest rise of 1.29%.  Although this figure was moderated by a downturn in Hong Kong exhibiting companies, Regional, International and Mainland China exhibiting compaines all showed increases.  Healthy growth of 6.02% in International exhibiting companies and 8.40% in Mainland China exhibiting companies were highlights of the survey.

Visitor numbers showed slightly different but similarly positive trends.  Despite the previously noted downturn in Hong Kong exhibiting companies, the number of Hong Kong-based visitors jumped by an impressive 19.78%, followed by good growth in Mainland China visitor numbers at 9.36%.  Meanwhile, Regional and International visitor numbers each recorded minor dips after particularly strong growth the previous year.  In total, visitor numbers for the year broke the two million mark and recorded strong overall growth of 12.92%.

After a drop the previous year, in 2015 net meterage occupied by exhibitors rose again by 2.59%, reaching 920,903 sqm.  Growth in net meterage is generally a sign of business optimism, and this was reflected too in the approximate stand rental revenues for the year, which rose by 5.31% over 2014.

Chairman of the HKECIA, Mr Stuart Bailey, said that the survey results were heartening for the industry and for Hong Kong, too. “When we see exhibiting company numbers, visitor numbers, net square meterage occupied by exhibiting companies and stand rental revenue all achieving positive growth,” he noted, “we can be confident that the exhibition industry in Hong Kong is on the right track. This is especially the case when times are tight, as they have been for the past couple of years.”

Of special note is the fact that exhibiting companies from outside Hong Kong increased strongly, indicating international confidence in the trade platforms that Hong Kong is able to provide for both buyers and sellers, and the spending power that can be harnessed here.  That is supported by the equivalent rises in visitors from both Hong Kong and Mainland China.

In fact, exhibition activities in terms of number of exhibitors and visitors actually outperformed tourist arrivals in 2015. “These are results that strongly reaffirm Hong Kong’s leading position and unique advantages as Trade Fair Capital of Asia,” said Mr Bailey. “Through these exhibition activities, the city continues to act as one of the world’s most important sourcing hubs”.

The 2015 exhibition survey is just one of the important tasks undertaken by the HKECIA, an organisation made up of representatives from across the exhibition and convention industries. To celebrate the 26th anniversary of the Association, on 8 June 2016 an anniversary dinner was held at the HKCEC, attended by over 340 members and guests. Mr Greg So, Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development of HKSAR Government, was Guest of Honour on the occasion.

The HKECIA also organised the Global Exhibitions Day Conference on 8 June 2016, in support of the first ever Global Exhibitions Day, driven by UFI, the Global Association of the Exhibition Industry, and the International Association of Exhibitions and Events (IAEE) to highlight the exhibition industry’s benefits for the economy and the fun of working in the industry.  Over 130 HKECIA members and non-members attended the Global Exhibitions Day Conference with the theme of China’s Belt & Road Initiative. The new initiative proposed by the PRC government aims to connect Asia, Europe and Africa to promote economic co-operation among countries along the five Belt and Road routes. 


Mr Gregory So, Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, HKSAR Government (fourth from left in front row) as the guest of honour, had a group photo with Mr Stuart Bailey, Chairman of the HKECIA (fourth from right in front row) and newly elected members of HKECIA Executive Committee at the 26th Annual Dinner of the Association held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre on 8 June.


Over 130 participants attended the Global Exhibitions Day Conference on 8 June.

Over 340 HKECIA members and guests attended the HKECIA 26th anniversary dinner at the HKCEC on 8 June.

Notes to editors:

1.  The HKECIA survey covered number of exhibiting companies, number of visitors, and space occupied at major ‘trade’ and ‘trade and consumer’ exhibitions of over 2,000 sqm held in Hong Kong from January to December 2015.

2. The HKECIA distributed the questionnaire to 56 organising companies which ran 137 exhibitions in Hong Kong across the calendar year. Out of these 137 exhibitions, 89 were ‘trade’ and ‘trade and consumer’ exhibitions while the remaining 48 were consumer shows. Figures stated in this media release are calculated from 77 completed questionnaires from ‘trade’ and ‘trade and consumer’ exhibitions.

3. ‘Regional’ in the Survey refers to Australia, New Zealand & South Pacific, North Asia, South Asia and South East Asia. ‘International’ refers to Europe, The Americas, Africa and Middle East.

4. Attendance figures are counted in terms of number of visits, i.e. if the same person attends exhibitions held concurrently at two different venues, this is counted as two visits.

#####

 

About the Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association

The Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association (HKECIA) was established in 1990 to promote Hong Kong as a world-class exhibition and conference destination and the trade fair capital of Asia Pacific. It works to represent the interests of all members involved in the exhibition and convention industries, and provides a unified voice in dealing with the government, legislative and statutory bodies, the media and public organisations, on all matters associate with the role of the exhibition and convention industry in Hong Kong’s economy. In addition, it offers training and educational programmes, and collects, analyses and distributes information and statistics relating to the industry. Currently, HKECIA has 106 members including exhibition organisers, venue managers and operators, contractors, hotels, and travel agents.

HKECIA is a member of UFI – The Global Association of the Exhibition Industry, and AFECA – The Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Associations.

 

 

2016-2018 HKECIA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

1.

Diversified Communications Hong Kong LLC  (Mr Stuart Bailey)

 Chairman

2.

Global Sources  (Ms Wendy Lai)

 Executive Vice

Chairman

3.

AMC (Exhibits) Ltd  (Mr Adolph Chan)

 Vice Chairman

4.

CP Exhibition - China Promotion Ltd  ( Mr Andrew Kay)

 Vice Chairman

5.

Schenker Int’l (HK) Ltd  (Mr Thomas Lau)

 Hon. Treasurer

6.

Coastal International Exhibition Co Ltd  (Ms Brenda Yau)

 Hon. Secretary

7.

Adsale Exhibition Services Ltd  (Mr Stanley Chu)

Executive Committee  Member

8.

AsiaWorld-Expo Management Limited  (Mr H W Lau)

Executive Committee Member

9.

Cathay Pacific Airways Ltd  (Ms Winnie Wong)

Executive Committee Member

10.

Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (Management) Ltd 

(Ms Monica Lee-Muller)

Executive Committee Member

11.

Hong Kong Exhibition Services Ltd  (Mr Daniel Cheung)

Executive Committee Member

12.

Hong Kong Tourism Board  (Mr Kenneth Wong)

Executive Committee Member

13.

Hong Kong Trade Development Council  (Mr Raymond Yip)

Executive Committee Member

14.

Mega Expo (Hong Kong) Limited  (Mr Henry Fong)

Executive Committee   Member

15.

Pico International (HK) Ltd  (Mr. Steven Fang)

Executive Committee Member

16.

TKS Exhibition Services Ltd  (Mr KS Tong)

Executive Committee Member

17.

UBM Asia Ltd  (Mr Michael Duck)

Executive Committee Member

18.

Ungerboeck Systems International Inc  (Mr Alan Wong)

Executive Committee Member

 

 

For further enquiries, please contact:

 

Ms Alexandra Seto

Association Manager

Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association

Tel: (852) 2558 1238                                      

Fax: (852) 2558 3074

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Website: www.exhibitions.org.hk

Banner 4

2015 年调查报告显示香港展览业亚洲龙头地位不变买家人数跃升13%

香港展览会议业协会(下称「协会」)今日发表其年度展览活动调查结果,涵盖2015年内本港的展览活动,结果显示,2015年对展览业来说是畅顺的一年。随著中国内地及国际商家的积极参展,选择在香港参展的公司总数略有增加。同时,由於香港本地访客人数大幅增加,加上内地访客人数亦有明显增长,访客总数较2014年有近13%的升幅。

虽然2015年社会及经济均充斥著不明朗因素,对香港经济更造成广泛的影响,调查显示展览业表现仍保持稳健。香港无论对参展商或访客仍然是深受欢迎的目的地,而且继续巩固其「亚洲展览之都」的龙头地位。

这项调查的问卷发送对象包括89个「商贸」和「商贸及消费」展览的参与者,所有展览均在2015年举办,而且租用面积达2,000平方米以上,共有77个展览的回覆。纯属「消费」的展览则不纳入此报告之内。

2015年,选择在香港参展的公司,由对上一年的66,164家微升1.29%至67,019家。虽然这个数字受到香港参展商减少的影响,但来自亚太区、国际、中国内地的参展商均有所增加。调查结果的亮点是国际参展商数目有6.02%的增长,而内地参展商数目更有8.40%的增幅。

访客数字趋势虽稍有差异,但总体情况表现正面。虽然香港参展商的数目有所回落,但来自香港的访客则有可观的19.78%跃升,仅次其後的内地访客人数则有9.36%的可观增长。与此同时,亚太区及国际访客人数,继上一年的强劲增长後,分别录得轻微的减退。总的来说,年内访客人数突破200万,录得12.92%的强劲整体升幅。

展位凈面积继上一年轻微下调後,2015年再度上升2.59% 至920,903平方米。展位凈面积增加一般是商情看好的指标,而这亦反映於展位租金的大致收入,相对2014年有5.31%的升幅。

协会主席李剑彬(Stuart Bailey)先生指出,调查结果无论对业界或香港都是令人振奋的消息。他解释:「当看到参展商数目、访客人数、展位凈面积和展位租金收入都录得增长,我们可以肯定香港的展览业持续向好,尤其是过去几年环球经济情况一直严峻。」

值得一提的是香港以外的参展商数目有强劲的增幅,显示香港继续赢得国际买家和供应商的信心,能提供有效的商贸平台,可以帮助参展商接触到庞大购买力群。中港两地访客数目显著增长正好支持这个趋势。

事实上,2015年参展商及访客数字的表现及升幅比同期的访港旅客数字凸出。「这些结果都證明香港的领先地位,以及作为『亚洲展览之都』所具备的独特优势。」李剑彬先生补充:「透过这些展览活动,香港继续成为全球最重要采购枢纽之一。」

对由展览业及会议业代表组成的协会来说,年度展览活动调查只是其中的一项重要任务。为庆祝26周年纪念,协会於6月8日在香港会议展览中心举办周年晚宴,出席的会员和嘉宾逾340人,并得到商务及经济发展局局长苏锦樑先生作为当晚的主礼嘉宾。

协会为了支持由国际展览业协会(UFI – The Global Association of the Exhibition Industry)和国际展览与项目协会(IAEE – The International Association of Exhibitions and Events)共同推动的首届「全球展览日」,於6月8日更举办了「全球展览日研讨会」,彰显展览业的经济效益和从事展览业的乐趣。该研讨会以「一带一路」为主题,云集百多位协会会员和非会员。中国政府倡议的「一带一路」策略,目的是联通亚、欧、非叁洲,促进一带一路五大经济走廊沿线国家的经济合作。

 

香港展览会议业协会6月8日在香港会议展览中心举办第26届周年晚宴,商务及经济发展局局长苏锦樑先生(前排左四)以主礼嘉宾身份,与协会主席李剑彬先生(前排右四)及各新当选执行委员会成员合照。

超过130位参加者出席6月8日的「全球展览日研讨会」。

超过340名香港展览会议业协会会员及嘉宾出席於6月8日假香港会议展览中心举行的第26届周年晚宴。

补充资料:

  1. 协会向56家展览主办机构发出问卷,该56家机构於2015年在香港共举办137个展览会,其中 89个是「商贸」及「商贸及消费」展,其馀 48 个是消费者展览。本新闻稿内所列数据乃根据 77份从「商贸」及「商贸及消费」展收集到的问卷统计而成。
  2. 调查中,「亚太区」包括澳洲、纽世兰、南太平洋、北亚、南亚及东南亚;「国际地区」则包括欧洲、美洲、非洲及中东。
  3. 展览会到访者统计以人次计算,即同一访客参观两个不同场馆同时举行的两个展览会,将作两次计算。

#####

 

关於香港展览会议业协会

香港展览会议业协会成立於1990 年,旨在推广香港成为世界级展览及会议地点与商贸展览的亚洲基地。协会以代表展览业会员利益为大前提,团结业界,积极与政府、立法及法定机关、传媒及公共组织等就展览业於香港经济所扮演的角色,进行商讨。此外,协会亦提供各项培训课程,并负责搜集、分析及派发与展览业相关的信息及统计资料。协会现时拥有逾106名会员,包括展览会主办机构、展览场馆管理公司、承办商、酒店及旅行社。

香港展览会议业协会是国际展览业协会和亚洲展览会议协会联盟的会员。

 

2016-2018 香港展览会议业协会执委会

 

执委会委员

代表

1

多元商讯 (香港)

会长

李剑彬先生

2

环球资源

常务副会长

黎可怡小姐

3

建同展览有限公司

副会长

陈诚丰先生

4

华进有限公司

副会长

祁理权先生

5

海岸国际展览有限公司

秘书长

游淑德女士

6

全球国际货运有限公司

司库

刘伟光先生

7

雅式展览服务有限公司

理事

朱裕伦先生

8

亚洲国际博览馆管理有限公司

理事

刘克华先生

9

国泰航空公司

理事

黄韵妮小姐

10

香港会议展览中心(管理)有限公司

理事

梅李玉霞女士

11

香港展览服务有限公司

理事

张伟雄先生

12

香港旅遊发展局

理事

黄卓雄先生

13

香港贸易发展局

理事

叶泽恩先生

14

恒建展览(香港)有限公司

理事

方宏先生

15

笔克(香港)有限公司

理事

方湘江先生

16

汇众展览服务有限公司

理事

汤锦成先生

17

亚洲博闻有限公司

理事

麦高德先生

18

安宝系统国际有限公司

理事

黄健伦先生

新闻界如有查询,请联络香港展览会议业协会行政经理司徒慧珠小姐。

电话:(852) 2558 1238

传真:(852) 2558 3074

电邮:该 Email 地址已受到反垃圾邮件插件保护。要显示它需要在浏览器中启用 JavaScript。

网址:www.exhibitions.org.hk