Banner 7

Study reveals Hong Kong’s exhibition industry contributes HK$52.9 million in 2016 International exhibitors’ average spend 75% more than general overnight tourists

 The Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (‘HKECIA’) released findings from the latest bienial Economic Impact Study gauging the contribution of Hong Kong’s exhibition industry to the city’s economy today.  The Study, covering the calendar year 2016, reveals that the exhibition industry contributed HK$52.9 billion (US$6.8 billion) to the local economy in 2016 in expenditure effects, equivalent to 2.1% of Hong Kong’s total GDP for the period.  The Study also reaffirms the significant economic benefits of the exhibition industry to the city, with international exhibitors spent on average 75% more than general overnight tourists in 2016.  At the same time, the exhibition industry generated the equivalent of 77,000 full-time jobs for people in Hong Kong.  

Total expenditure generated by the exhibition industry remained at the same level as that of 2014 despite continuing global economic uncertainty.  Of the HK$52.9 billion (US$6.8 billion) in total expenditure effects generated by the industry, just over half – HK$26.5 billion (US$3.4 billion) – represented direct expenditure made by visitors, exhibitors and organisers.  

 

International exhibitors and exhibition visitors are high-value groups by comparison with general overnight tourists, according to the Study.  It shows that international exhibitors and exhibition visitors continued to significantly outspend general overnight tourists, on average spending around 75% and 66% more respectively in 2016.  In fact, the difference in spending between these two groups and general overnight tourists increased by comparison with the difference reported in the previous three editions of the Study.  That spending benefits Hong Kong’s important retail, hotel and F&B sectors the most.

From 2014 to 2016 the average spending of overnight tourists coming to Hong Kong declined quite significantly, by 17%.  By contrast, the Study shows that the average spending of international exhibitors and exhibition visitors, while also declining, fell by less than that for overnight tourists, at 10% and 14% respectively. This reinforces the fact that business travelers attracted to Hong Kong by the exhibition industry are high-value individuals who are important contributors to the economy.  

Hong Kong’s government also benefits directly and to a high level from the exhibition industry, according to the Study.  In 2016, the fiscal benefits contributed by the exhibition industry (e.g. the various taxes imposed by the government on exhibition activities and participants) amounted to HK$1.9 billion (US$244.2 million).

 

Mr Stuart Bailey, Chairman of the HKECIA which commissioned the study, said, “This latest data comes as a timely reminder of the importance of the exhibition industry to Hong Kong, at a time when decisions need to be made about the support it is given going ahead.  We did expect to see a drop in some areas as the global economy has not yet fully rebounded.  The findings clearly show the massive benefits delivered at the levels of cash spending, employment opportunities, and spin-off effects for related businesses and supporting industries, and for government income.  We must do our best to secure international exhibitors and exhibition visitors who are proven high spenders, and to ensure that Hong Kong continues to have the capabilities to attract and host large and significant exhibitions in the years to come.”

 

This was the seventh in the Economic Impact Study series, which have been carried out biennially since 2004.  It was conducted by KPMG Advisory (Hong Kong) Limited, a respected independent research consultancy.

 

KEY FINDINGS OF THE ECONOMIC IMPACT STUDY 2016

Economic impact of Hong Kong’s exhibition industry in 2016 and 2014

Areas

Benefits (2016)

Benefits (2014)

Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR)

Expenditure effects

HK$52.9 billion

(US$6.8 billion)

HK$52.9 billion

(US$6.8 billion)

--

Fiscal impact

HK$1.9 billion

(US$244.2 million)

HK$2.1 billion

(US$269.9 million)

-6.1%

Employment

77,000 FTE

83,500 FTE

-7.8%

 

Expenditure effects remain at 2014’s level of HK$52.9 billion, equivalent to 2.1% of Hong Kong’s GDP

-     Direct expenditure covers expenditure by Visitor Personal (exhibition visitors) and Business Related (exhibition organisers and exhibitors) and amounts for HK$26.5 billion (US$3.4 billion).

-     Visitor expenditure remains the largest expenditure segment at HK$15.3 billion (US$2 billion) in 2016, accounting for 58% of the total direct expenditure.

-     Visitor personal expenditure is spilt between international and domestic spending is around 93% to 7% (same ratio in 2014).

-     Retail, international transport, hotel and F&B sectors were the largest recipients of director visitor expenditure, accounting for 86.2% of the total visitor personal expenditure.

-     Business-related (exhibition organisers and exhibitors) expenditure amounted to HK$11.1 billion (US$1.4 billion) in 2016.

 

Equivalent of 77,000 full time employment provided by the exhibition industry

-     Around 3,300 FTEs, or 4.3%, were directly employed by exhibition organisers and venues.

-     Remaining 95.7%, or 73,700 FTE jobs, was provided across various supporting sectors. Amount this group, around 58% of the FTE jobs created came from retail, hotel and F&B. Other supporting industries such as international transport, stand contractors, advertising and others accounted for the remaining 42%.

 

International exhibitors and exhibition visitors outspend overnight tourists

-     International exhibition visitors’ spend is on average 66% higher than overnight tourists.

-     International exhibitors’ spend is on average 75% higher than overnight tourists.

 

 

 

2016

2014

Variance  (%)

International exhibition visitors’ average spend

HK$10,942

(US$1,406)

HK$12,776

(US$1,642)

-14.3

International exhibitors’ average spend

HK$11,523

(US$1,481)

HK$12,829

(US$1,649)

-10.1

Overnight tourists’ average spend

HK$6,599

(US$848)

HK$7,960

(US$1,023)

-17.1

 

Fiscal benefits amounted to HK$1.9 billion

-     Derived from three taxes:

  • Profits tax: HK$960 million (US$123.4 million)
  • Salary tax: HK$886 million (US$113.9 million)
  • Airport tax: HK$90 million (US$11.6 million)

#####


About the Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association

The Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association (HKECIA) was established in 1990 to promote Hong Kong as a world-class exhibition and conference destination and the trade fair capital of Asia Pacific. It works to represent the interests of all members involved in the exhibition and convention industries, and provides a unified voice in dealing with the government, legislative and statutory bodies, the media and public organisations, on all matters associate with the role of the exhibition and convention industry in Hong Kong’s economy. In addition, it offers training and educational programmes, and collects, analyses and distributes information and statistics relating to the industry. Currently, HKECIA has 100 members including exhibition organisers, venue managers and operators, contractors, hotels, and travel agents.

HKECIA is a member of UFI – The Global Association of the Exhibition Industry, and AFECA – The Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Associations.

For further enquiries, please contact:

Ms Alexandra Seto

Association Manager

Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association

Tel: (852) 2558 1238                                           Fax: (852) 2558 3074

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.                    Website: www.exhibitions.org.hk

Banner 1

最新研究报告指出香港展览业2016年为港进帐529亿港元 海外参展商平均消费较一般过夜旅客高出75%

(香港,2017年11月29日)          香港展览会议业协会 (简称「协会」) 今天发表「2016年香港展览业香港经济贡献研究报告」。这个两年一度的研究显示,在2016年展览业为本地经济带来529亿港元的消费开支,相等於期内香港本地生产总值的2.1%。这项研究亦再一次肯定展览业为香港带来可观的经济效益,而2016年海外参展商的平均消费,较一般过夜旅客的消费更高出75%。同时,展览业亦为香港人创造相等於77,000个全职职位。

虽然环球经济持续不明朗,展览业带来的总消费开支仍维持在2014年的水平。展览业带动529亿港元的总消费开支,其中略超过一半,即265亿港元源自访客、参展商和主办机构的直接开支。

根据这项研究,相对一般过夜旅客,海外参展商和展览访客属高价值客群。研究数据显示,2016年内,海外参展商和展览访客的平均消费,大幅抛离一般过夜旅客,较一般过夜旅客分别高出75%及66%。事实上,这两类客群相对一般过夜旅客的消费差距,比对上叁次研究得出的差距有所增加。最受惠於这类消费的,是对香港十分重要的零售、酒店及饮食行业。

2014至2016年间,来港过夜旅客的平均消费有17%的显著下滑。相反,这项研究显示,虽然海外参展商和展览访客的平均消费亦有减少,分别为10%和14%,其减幅仍较过夜旅客为低。这正好进一步證明,受展览业吸引到港的商务旅客是高价值客群,对本港经济有重要的贡献。

这项研究的数字显示,展览业亦为香港政府带来直接而且高额的收益。2016年,展览业贡献的税务收益,例如政府加诸展览活动和展览参与者的各种税收,为数达19亿港元。

这项研究由香港展览会议业协会委託进行。协会会长李剑彬先生(Stuart Bailey)表示:「香港现正处於关键时刻,要决定到底未来该为展览业提供多少支援,这些最新数据正好及时提醒我们展览业对香港的重要性。由於环球经济仍未全面复甦,我们早已预期部分範畴会出现下调。研究结果清楚显示,无论在消费开支、就业机会、相关行业的间接受惠,以至政府收入方面,展览业都带来庞大的效益。海外参展商及展览访客已證明是高消费的一群,我们必须尽力稳住他们,也要确保在未来,香港继续有能力吸引和举办大型和重要的展览。」

这是自2004年来,每两年一次的「经济贡献研究」的第七份。研究由广受认同的独立研究机构毕马威谘询(香港)有限公司进行。

2016年香港展览业「经济贡献研究」的主要调查结果:

香港展览业於2016年及2014年对香港的经济贡献

範畴

2016年收益

2014年收益

複合年增长(CAGR)

消费开支

529亿港元

529亿港元

--

政府税收

19亿港元

21亿港元

-6.1%

就业机会

相等於77,000个全职职位

相等於83,500个全职职位

-7.8%


消费开支维持在2014年的529亿港元水平,相等於香港本地生产总值的2.1%

- 直接开支包括展览访客的个人开支,以及与商务相关(展览主办机构和参展商)的开支,两者合计达265亿港元。

- 展览访客个人消费为数达153亿港元,占2016年直接消费开支58%,是各项消费的最大份额。

- 展览访客个人开支中,海外与本地访客份额的比例约为93%对7%(与2014年的份额比例相同)。

- 零售、国际运输、酒店和饮食业是直接访客个人开支的最大受惠行业,共占访客个人开支的86.2%。

- 2016年,与商务有关(展览主办机构及参展商)的开支达111亿港元。

展览业提供相等於77,000个全职职位

- 其中相等於约3,300个全职职位,或4.3%,直接由展览主办机构及展览场馆僱用。

- 其馀的95.7%,即相等於大约73,700个全职职位来自其他支援行业。当中大约58%的相等全职职位来自零售、酒店和饮食业;而其他支援行业,包括国际运输、摊位搭建、广告等行业则提供其馀的42%全职职位。

海外参展商和展览访客的消费较一般过夜旅客为高

- 海外展览访客的平均消费,较一般过夜旅客高出66%。

- 海外参展商的平均消费,较一般过夜旅客高出75%。

 

2016

2014

变动(%)

海外展览访客平均消费

10,942港元

12,776港元

-14.3

海外参展商平均消费

11,523港元

12,829港元

-10.1

一般过夜旅客平均消费

6,599港元

7,960港元

-17.1

政府税收达19亿港元

- 税收进帐来自以下叁个税项:
利得税:亿港元
薪俸税:亿港元
机场税:9,000万港元

#####

关於香港展览会议业协会
香港展览会议业协会成立於1990年,旨在推广香港成为世界级展览及会议地点与商贸展览的亚洲基地。协会以代表展览业会员利益为大前提,团结业界,积极与政府、立法及法定机关、传媒
及公共组织等就展览业於香港经济所扮演的角色,进行商讨。此外,协会亦提供各项培训课程,并负责搜集、分析及派发与展览业相关的信息及统计资料。协会现时拥有逾100名会员,包括展览会主办机构、展览场馆管理公司、承办商、酒店及旅行社。
香港展览会议业协会是国际展览业协会(UFI – The Global Association of the Exhibition Industry) 和亚洲展览会议协会联盟(Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Associations)的会员。
传媒如有查询,请联络香港展览会议业协会行政经理司徒慧珠小姐。
电话:(852) 2558 1238
传真:(852) 2558 3074
电邮:该 Email 地址已受到反垃圾邮件插件保护。要显示它需要在浏览器中启用 JavaScript。
网址:www.exhibitions.org.hk