Banner 2

HKECIA 2015-2016 Chairman's Report


The Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (HKECIA), first incorporated in May 1990, is celebrating its 26th year in 2016.  The Association currently has 106 members, making it a truly representative voice for the exhibition and convention industries.  Our commitment over the years has been to act as a unified voice that represents and promotes the industry and increases awareness of the contribution it has made to our wider society, as well as one that supports members in areas such as professional development, business networking and information exchange.       

One of the important tasks of the Association is handling the annual exhibition survey, a valuable tool widely used by members, the government, the media, the business sector and the wider community to understand trends and developments in the exhibition industry.  Benchmarking the survey findings with similar surveys conducted by other Asian cities gives us a valuable ‘big picture’ of where Hong Kong stands in the region.

The exhibition survey for 2015 showed that the Hong Kong exhibition industry achieved steady, moderate growth over 2014.  Key indicators were all positive, including such indicators as exhibiting company numbers, visitor numbers, and rental revenue generated from exhibiting companies.  In regard to trade and trade & consumer exhibitions, the number of exhibiting companies grew from 66,164 to 67,019, up by 1.3%, while the number of visitors increased by 12.9% to almost 2.2 million.  These figures are encouraging, and support the requests we have been making for more exhibition space to be provided in Hong Kong.  I would again like to thank the Communications Sub-committee for making this important survey possible, along with all those of our members who contributed data.


Sub-Committee Reports

China Sub-Committee

During the past 12 months, the HKECIA continued to maintain close relationships with exhibition organisations in different cities of Mainland China. Delegations from Mainland organisations were welcomed from Hainan, Ningbo, Foshan and Dalian.  Representatives from the Association also participated in a number of major exhibition events in China, including CEFCO in Yichuen and the International Exhibition Logistics Association Summit that both took place in January 2016, the Inter-City Cooperation Development Forum in Guangzhou in February 2016, and the Annual General Meeting of the China Exhibition Research Association in Zhuhai in April 2016.

HKECIA members have a particular interest in venue development in China.  The China Sub-committee has been following closely and monitoring the progress of the 500,000 sqm China National Exhibition and Convention Centre in Shanghai and the new exhibition centres in the neighbouring cities of Shenzhen, Zhuhai and Foshan.

Communications Sub-Committee

The Communications Sub-committee successfully handled the extensive work associated with producing the 6th edition of the Economic Impact Study 2014 as well as managing the Annual Exhibition Survey 2015, while at the same time maintaining a busy schedule of day to day activities.  The report of the Economic Impact Study 2014 is underway and the results will be announced soon.  It has provided valuable regular support to the Association in areas such as media relations, press interviews, and chairman’s speeches, and it also delivered editorial support for the production of the HKECIA 25th anniversary book.  The sub-committee also supported the Special Committee on Venue Development by assisting with the preparation of positioning papers and correspondence for government officials and stakeholders.

Education and Training Sub-Committee

The Education and Training Sub-committee successfully organised the annual HKECIA Annual Seminar in December, which attracted around 95, under the theme “Transforming Your Trade Shows”. Mr John Blaskey, founder and Managing Director of The Exhibiting Agency Ltd and Mr Tom Mehrmann, Chief Executive of Ocean Park Hong Kong, each delivered inspiring speeches at the event. The sub-committee will continue to explore suitable education and training opportunities to benefit members and welcomes members to share their ideas for topics and speakers.

Exhibition Operations Sub-Committee

“Sustainability” has remained the focus of the Exhibition Operations Sub-committee, which involves activities that make for the safer running of events in Hong Kong, and reduce the environmental impact of these events.

Many Hong Kong events have limited move-in move-out times, making maintaining safe working practices a challenge.  In the past year the sub-committee has been involved in discussions with stakeholders to improve the quality of ladders used and the working methods of ladder users, as “falls from height” are the number one cause of serious accidents.  A number of organisers are also now reducing the height of raw space stands, which is significantly reducing the risk of these serious accidents.

Reduced stand heights also help reduce the environmental impact of our events, given that a percentage of stand material still ends up in Hong Kong landfills after shows close.  In addition, less material means fewer trucks are needed to transport material to and from the venues, reducing vehicle pollution and road congestion issues directly linked to our events.

Membership Sub-Committee

The Membership Sub-committee continued to work on creating networking opportunities for members and supporting Association events such as the annual dinner and seminars.

As of April 2016, the Association had 69 full members, 26 associate members and 11 overseas members, making a total of 106 members. 

In 2015, the sub-committee helped organise a Christmas networking cocktail and industry seminar which was attended by 95 members, along with the HKECIA 25th anniversary annual dinner, attended by 466 members and guests.

Trade Promotion, Communication & Networking Activities

The Association has been actively involved in a number of valuable activities over the year, and I would like to mention some of the most significant here.

-           The 25th HKECIA Annual Dinner was held on 30 June with great success, attracting 466 participants

-           In October 2015,  a delegation of 14 members of the HKECIA attended the 20th Macao International Trade And Investment Fair (MIF) and the 8th Guangzhou/Hong Kong/Macao Exhibition Industry Cooperation Forum in Macau

-           Also in October 2015, former Chairman Javed Khan and 15 members attended the Ningbo – Hong Kong Economic Cooperation Forum held at the HKCEC. Javed delivered a speech on the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition industry and the potential collaboration between Hong Kong and Ningbo.

-           In November 2015, , Stanley Chu on behalf of the HKECIA delivered a speech at the UFI Congress in Milan during the networking lunch on the opening day. There were 450 participants from 265 companies at this Congress.

-           In December 2015, the annual chairman’s Golf day at Sai Kung Kau Sai Chau was successfully organised, participants enjoyed a fun day of sport and networking.

-           In April 2016 I was invited to deliver a welcome speech to an audience of government and MICE industry professionals at a Symposium on Hainan Convention and Exhibition Industry Development.

Concerted industry development efforts to benefit all

Hong Kong enjoys a leading position in the region, but this is not something we should take for granted.  Fierce competition is all around us: competition for new and additional space and for government support, and competition between individual cities across the region.  To maintain our supremacy in Hong Kong, we need to work on enhancing co-operation within the industry, presenting constructive and practical recommendations to the government and to policy makers, and getting more support from the government and the business community.  To this end, our Executive Committee will continue to explore opportunities for co-operation with the Commerce & Economic Bureau, the Trade Development Council, the Tourism Commission, and the Hong Kong Tourism Board.

The CEDB has commissioned the HKTDC to study plans for the new convention centre above the future Exhibition Station. Although this additional space is welcome news, we believe that this does not go nearly far enough in terms of the unmet demand, therefore the Executive Committee and the Special Committee for Venue Development will continue to advocate expansion of both the HKCEC and AWE in order to create more dedicated exhibition space.  The Association has written to the CEDB and the HKGCC representative to express our position. We will continue to seek commitment to a clear action plan and timeline from the Hong Kong government, with the goal of meeting the demand for more exhibition space and realising the potential economic benefits for Hong Kong. 

I also encourage members to raise and discuss issues concerning the interests and the development of the industry through the channels offered by the Association.  On behalf both of myself and of former chairman Javed Khan, I would like to finish by expressing the utmost gratitude to fellow Executive Committee members for the continued support they have provided during the year.

Stuart Bailey

Chairman (2016)

Banner 10

香港展覽會議業協會 - 2015-2016年會長報告

 

香港展覽會議業協會自1990年5月成立以來,至今已踏入第26個年頭。本會現共有106名會員,形成了一道真正能代表香港會議展覽業的聲音。多年來我們一直為業界發聲,致力宣揚本業,讓業界的社會貢獻更廣為人知。此外,我們亦在專業發展、業務聯系、訊息交流等方面為會員提供支援。

本會的一項重要任務是進行展覽業年度調查。無論是本會會員、政府、媒體、商界以至社會大眾,這項調查都是認識本港展覽業趨勢和發展的重要途徑。若將調查結果與亞洲其他城市類似調查的結果相比,我們可對香港展覽業在區內的地位有一個更整體的印象。

展覽活動調查顯示,相對2014年,香港展覽業在2015年取得穩定溫和的增長。各項主要數據,包括參展商數目、訪客人數、展位租金收入等均錄得升幅。在「商貿」及「商貿及消費」展覽方面,參展商數目由2014年的66,194家微升1.3%至67,019家,而訪客人數則大幅上升12.9%至近220萬。這些都是令人鼓舞的數據,亦是我們一直要求香港增加展覽場地的强力支持。對負責組織這項重要調查的傳訊事務小組,以及曾為調查提供數據的所有會員,本人謹再三致以謝意。

小組工作報告

中國事務小組

過去12個月,本會與內地多個城市的展覽機構繼續保持密切聯系。我們接待了來自海南、寧波、佛山、大連等地機構的代表團。本會的代表也參加了多個內地的主要參覽活動,包括同樣在2016年1月舉行的銀川「中國會展經濟國際合作論壇」和「國際展覽品物流協會高峰會」、2016年2月在廣州舉行的「城際合作發展論壇」、2016年 4月在珠海舉行的「中國展覽研究協會週年會員大會」等。

本會會員對內地的展覽場地發展向來特別關注。對位於上海,面積達50萬平方米的「國家會展中心」,以及在深圳、珠海和佛山三個鄰近城市的新展覽中心,中國事務小組也加以密切留意並監察其進展。

傳訊事務小組

年內,就「展覽業對香港經濟的整體貢獻研究2014」(為是項研究的第六次)和「香港展覽業年度調查2015」,傳訊事務小組有效地處理了大量相關工作,同時亦執行了緊湊的日常活動。「展覽業對香港經濟的整體貢獻研究2014」的報告正在積極籌備當中,結果也快將公布。傳訊事務小組不僅在本會的媒體關係、新聞界採訪、會長演辭等方面提供可貴的恆常支援,更負責本會25周年特刊的編輯工作。此外,在協助「場地發展特別委員會」籌備立場書,並與政府官員和持份者通訊等方面,傳訊事務小組也出力不少。

教育及培訓事務小組

在教育及培訓事務小組的策劃下,於去年12月順利舉辦以「大事革新你的商貿展」(Transforming Your Trade Shows)為題的協會年度研討會,,共有95人參加。當日英國The Exhibiting Agency Ltd的創辦人兼執行董事John Blaskey先生及香港海洋公園行政總裁苗樂文(Tom Mehrmann)先生分別發表了極具啟發性的演講。為造益會員,小組將繼續探討各種合適的教育及培訓機會,亦歡迎會員提出培訓主題和講者的建議。

展覽營運事務小組

「可持續性」仍然是展覽營運事務小組的工作重點,小組的活動包括如何令展覽的籌辦更為安全,以及如何減低這些展覽對環境的影響。

香港不少展覽都有進場和離場時間的限制,令安全工作措施難以實施。鑑於「高處下墮」是業內嚴重工傷意外的頭號原因,故展覽營運事務小組過去一年曾就如何改善梯子的質素及使用方法多次與持份者洽商。一些主辦機構現已減低了展覽淨地攤位的高度,從而大幅減低這類嚴重意外的風險。

由於展覽結束後,有部分攤位物料或會送到香港的堆填區,故攤位高度的減低亦有助於減少展覽對環境的影響。此外,物料減少令搬運物料進出會場所需的貨車數目有所減少,從而亦減低與本港展覽直接相關的車輛廢氣及交通阻塞問題。

會員事務小組

會員事務小組年內繼續為會員舉辦各種聯誼活動,也協助舉辦週年晚宴及年度研討會等活動。

截至2016年4月,本會有69個正式會員、26個附屬會員、11個海外會員,令會員總數達106。

2015年,會員事務小組協辦了聖誕聯誼酒會及業內研討會,出席會員有95位;而參加第25屆協會週年晚宴的會員及嘉賓則有466位。

商貿推廣、宣傳及聯誼活動

年內,本會積極參與過不少難得的活動,其中較為重要的有以下數項:

-      第25屆協會周年晚宴於6月30日隆重舉辦,出席人士達466位。

-      2015年10月,本會代表團一行14人赴澳門,出席第20屆澳門國際貿易投資展覽會及第8屆穗港澳會展業合作論壇。

-      同樣在2015年10月,本會前任會長簡志偉先生(Javed Khan)率領15名會員出席在香港會展中心舉行的寧波香港經濟合作論壇。其間,簡志偉先生發表演講,論述香港的展覽會議業以及香港與寧波可以進行的各種合作。

-      2015年11月,在米蘭UFI代表大會首日的交流午餐會中,朱裕倫先生代表本會發表演講。該大會有來自265家公司的450位人士出席。

-      2015年12月,年度「會長高爾夫球日」在西貢滘西洲順利舉行,參加者均享受了一天的運動和聯誼樂趣。

-      2016年4月,本人獲邀在「海南省會展業發展研討會」中,向在座的政府官員及會展旅遊業業者發表講話。

整體利益為上,協力發展業界

雖然香港的會展業在區內處於領導地位,但我們不可視之為理所當然。我們四周競爭異常激烈:有對新場地及額外場地的競爭、有對政府援助的競爭,也有區內個別城市間的競爭。為了保持香港的優越地位,我們須加強業內合作,向政府及政策制定者提交具建設性而又切實可行的建議,以期獲得政商界更多的支持。為此,本會的執行委員會(執委會)將繼續探討各種機會,務求與商務及經濟發展局(商經局)、貿易發展局、旅遊事務署、旅遊發展局等加強合作。

商經局現已委託貿發局,研究在港鐵「會展站」上蓋興建全新會議中心的計劃。雖然這是值得歡迎的消息,但對滿足需求短缺方面僅屬杯水車薪。為增加更多的展覽專用空間,執委會及場地發展特別委員會將繼續推動會展中心及亞博館的擴建。本會已去信商經局及香港總商會闡述我們的立場。我們會繼續尋求香港政府承諾一個明確的行動方案和時間表,目的是滿足有更多展覽空間的需求,以及為香港實現潛在的經濟利益。

我亦鼓勵所有會員透過本會提供的渠道,提出和討論有關業界利益和發展的各項議題。最後,我謹代表本人及前任會長簡志偉先生,就執委會各同事年內給我們的持續支持,致以最深切的謝意。

香港展覽會議業協會會長(2016)

李劍彬(Stuart Bailey)