Banner 10

HKECIA’s Position for the Development of Convention and Exhibition Industries in Hong Kong

 

(Hong Kong, 20 March 2017) The Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (HKECIA) is the authoritative organisation of the Hong Kong exhibition and convention industries since 1990. Its members comprise of major exhibition and conference organisers in Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (Management) Limited (HML), the AsiaWorld-Expo Management Limited (AWE) as well as other important industry players.

With the recent debates among the Chief Executive candidates on 19 March evening, there were arguments over the proposed use of the Wan Chai Sports Ground site for exhibitions, community activities and trendy sports, the association feels that now is the right time to clarify the position of its members in relation to these matters.

 

The needs of the people of Hong Kong to have adequate facilities to engage in sports and leisure pursuits are paramount to health and wellbeing and the Association applauds the government on its commitment to building new state of the art facilities to accommodate this. Equally in order for Hong Kong to prosper economically the city must provide additional space for convention and exhibition activities as laid out in the paper by the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau (CEDB) of Hong Kong SAR Government, titled “Development of Convention and Exhibition Industries in Hong Kong” presented to the Legislative Council on 10 February 2015 and the executive summary of “Demand Study for New Convention and Exhibition Facilities in Hong Kong” conducted by AMRinternational. The CEDB paper is available herehttp://www.legco.gov.hk/yr14-15/english/panels/ci/papers/ci20150210cb1-512-5-e.pdf

The economic impact of trade exhibitions to the city is worth HK$52.9 Billion and provides the equivalent of 83,500 full-time jobs in the industry and supporting sectors (HKECIA Economic Impact Study 2014 conducted by KPMG Advisory (Hong Kong) Limited). We also know that Hong Kong is forced to turn away leading conferences and exhibitions, 56 international event applications were turned down in 2013, due to shortage of space. Without a commitment to provide additional space for these meetings and exhibitions they are forced to look to move to other cities that can accommodate them thus leading to Hong Kong’s decline as a major city of trade and commerce. Our neighboring city Shenzhen will open an additional 300,000 sqm of indoor exhibition space in 2018, while the combined total of AWE and Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre together is only 136,000sqm, highlighting the problem the industry faces.

The Association and its members are keen to see expansion at both of the existing venues (AWE and HKCEC) but do not favour the option of a third venue in the city as this will not solve the problem of trade organisers seeking to hold a large-scale meetings and exhibitions under one roof. Over the past three decades Hong Kong has successfully positioned itself as the trade fair capital of Asia and brought enormous benefits to Hong Kong’s reputation and economy, the HKECIA is resolute not to let this position slip as Hong Kong’s key advantages over other cities in the region remain strong.

The HKECIA welcomes the work being undertaken to conduct a feasibility study on the use of the land adjacent to the HKCEC known as the Wan Chai Sports Ground. Part of this work will be to ensure that the interests of the sports community are upheld until the Kai Tak Sports Park reaches completion, we look forward to seeing the findings of this study.

Much is often made of the problem of traffic congestion in Wan Chai area. The Central - Wan Chai Bypass and Island Eastern Corridor Link currently under construction is another important project and the strategic route along the north shore of Hong Kong Island, will serve to alleviate the traffic congestion along the existing Gloucester Road. The addition of the “Exhibition” MTR Station on the Sha Tin to Central Link will also help by providing the best way to bring passengers into the area and connect the different phases of the HKCEC, New Convention Centre and Wan Chai Sports Ground.

The HKECIA is an apolitical organisation and does not favour any particular candidate for the next Chief Executive of Hong Kong SAR, we would however urge the government to continue its work to ensure that the interests of exhibitions and conventions that bring jobs, opportunity and wealth to the city are looked after.

-------END-------

About the Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association

The Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (HKECIA) was established in 1990 to promote Hong Kong as a world-class exhibition and conference destination and the trade fair capital of Asia Pacific. It works to represent the interests of all members involved in the exhibition and convention industries, and provides a unified voice in dealing with the government, legislative and statutory bodies, the media and public organisations, on all matters associate with the role of the exhibition and convention industry in Hong Kong’s economy. In addition, it offers training and educational programmes, and collects, analyses and distributes information and statistics relating to the industry. Currently, HKECIA has 106 members including exhibition organisers, venue managers and operators, contractors, hotels, and travel agents.

HKECIA is a member of UFI – The Global Association of the Exhibition Industry, and AFECA – The Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Associations.

For further enquiries, please contact:

Ms Alexandra Seto

Association Manager

Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association

Tel: (852) 2558 1238                                         

Fax: (852) 2558 3074

E-mail:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.         

Website:www.exhibitions.org.hk

Banner 1

香港展覽會議業協會就本港業界發展發表立場 - 重申香港需擴建現有展覽場地

(香港,2017年3月21日)香港展覽會議業協會(協會)自1990年起,一直是代表香港展覽及會議業的權威組織。協會的會員包括本港主要展覽和會議主辦機構、香港會議展覽中心(管理)有限公司、亞洲國際博覽館(管理)有限公司(亞博館)及其他業界重要伙伴。 

3月19日晚,在行政長官選舉辯論中,候選人曾就灣仔運動場改建為展覽、社區活動和新穎康體運動的建議發表意見。為此,協會認為現在是合適時候,表明其會員在這方面的立場。

為香港市民的健康和福祉著想,他們需要足夠的設施來進行體育和休閒活動。特區政府為滿足這方面的需求,致力興建最先進康體設施,協會深表讚賞。另方面,為顧及經濟發展,香港亦必需增加額外的會議及展覽場地,此點在商務及經濟發展局(商經局) 2015年2月10日向立法局提交,題為《香港會議及展覽業的發展》報告,以及商經局委託國際顧問公司AMR International就所進行的研究而撰寫的《香港新會議及展覽設施需求研究》行政摘要中已有闡述。商經局的報告請見附件http://www.legco.gov.hk/yr14-15/chinese/panels/ci/papers/ci20150210cb1-512-5-c.pdf

展覽業為香港整體經濟貢獻529億港元,而且為業界及相關行業提供相等於83,500個全職職位(根據由協會委託畢馬威諮詢(香港)有限公司進行的《2014年展覽業對香港經濟的整體貢獻研究報告》)。因為場地不足,香港被迫推卻不少重要的會議和展覽。單以2013年計,香港推卻了56個會議和展覽活動的申請。由於香港未能提供額外場地,這些會議和展覽被迫改在其他城市舉辦,令香港在主要商貿城市排名方面有所下滑。我們的近鄰城市深圳將於2018年啟用30萬平方米的額外室內展覽場地,反觀亞博館和香港會議展覽中心 (會展中心) 的場地,面積相加也不過區區136,000平方米,正好突顯出業界面臨的難題。

協會及其會員渴望本港兩個場地(亞博館及會展中心)得到擴充,但不贊同興建第三個場地,因為這個選擇無助於解決商貿展覽主辦機構希望在同一地點舉辦大型活動的訴求。過去30年,香港已成功建立其亞洲展覽之都的地位,為本身的聲譽和經濟帶來深厚的利益。鑑於相對亞洲區內其他城市,香港的優勢仍然穩固,協會堅決要維護這個地位。

就會展中心毗鄰地段(即灣仔運動場)的用途,現已進行可行性研究工作,協會對此表示歡迎。研究工作的一部分,是要確保在啟德體育園竣工之前,能夠維護體育界的利益。我們期待看到這項可行性研究的結果。

灣仔區交通擠塞問題早已有不少論述。興建中的中環灣仔繞道和東區走廊連接路是另一項重要工程,也是港島北岸的策略性幹道,作用是紓緩現時告士打道的交通擠塞情況。另外,港鐵沙中線增加了「會展站」亦有助於解決問題,因為設置該站不僅提供把乘客帶到區內的最佳方法,而且更可把會展中心各期建築與日後的新會議中心和灣仔運動場地段連接起來。

協會是個非政治性的組織,並無政治立場,亦沒對任何行政長官候選人有任何取向,但由於展覽會議業為香港帶來就業、商機和財富,我們敦促政府繼續努力,確保業界利益受到重視。

#####

關於香港展覽會議業協會

香港展覽會議業協會成立於1990 年,旨在推廣香港成為世界級展覽及會議地點與商貿展覽的亞洲基地。協會以代表展覽業會員利益為大前提,團結業界,積極與政府、立法及法定機關、傳媒及公共組織等就展覽業於香港經濟所扮演的角色,進行商討。此外,協會亦提供各項培訓課程,並負責搜集、分析及派發與展覽業相關的信息及統計資料。協會現時擁有逾106名會員,包括展覽會主辦機構、展覽場館管理公司、承辦商、酒店及旅行社。

香港展覽會議業協會是國際展覽業協會和亞洲展覽會議協會聯盟的會員。

傳媒如有查詢,請聯絡香港展覽會議業協會行政經理司徒慧珠小姐。

電話:(852) 2558 1238                     

傳真:(852) 2558 3074

電郵:Email住址會使用灌水程式保護機制。你需要啟動Javascript才能觀看它   

網址:www.exhibitions.org.hk